«Piano Concerto No.3 ‘Monster’» Op.45

Concerto in three movements for Piano and Symphony Orchestra.

Category: Symphony Orchestra

Instrumentation: 2-2-2-2(alt. Cbsn) 4-2-3-1 Timp Perc:1 Piano Str

Composer: Flint Juventino Beppe

Year composed: 1999

First performance: October 18, 2002

Duration: 15:20


  1. Beyond (3:00)
  2. Among (5:30)
  3. Inside (6:50)


First performed by the Norwegian Radio Orchestra conducted by Ari Rasilainen. Piano soloist: Joachim Knoph.

— The Piano Concerto No.3 ‘Monster’, Op.45, also in three movements, brings a different nature with the first movement, Beyond, opening with a light-hearted wandering theme for piano picked up by the orchestra. There is a jazzy element to the music that is punctuated by intricate little passages and phrases, yet overall this movement moves ahead with a swagger. Among brings a calm flowing theme for piano and orchestra with subtle little rhythmic pauses. The music slows, centrally, to a more thoughtful passage for orchestra with the piano joining this slower, darker version of the theme before leading to a particularly fine melodic section with constantly shifting harmonies that takes us to the coda. Inside opens forcefully for piano and orchestra before falling, only to build again dramatically, with timpani strokes. There are some terrific orchestral moments for wind showing Beppe’s fine skills as an orchestrator.

The Classical Reviewer (UK)

Print this page